The Monastery of Preveli is ages as fas as back to the 17th century reaching its peak during the 18th and 19th century.
The foundation is consited of two separate areas
- the Monastery of Saint John the Theologian, also referred to as Piso Moni (monastery in the back) which is closer to the sea
- the monastery of Saint John the Baptist, also referred as Kato Moni (lower monastery), which is close to the Megas River.
The Monastery of Preveli has always offered support and shelter to all the people who needed them. The abbot Melhisedek Tsouderos, a descendant of the royal family of the Byzantine Empire, was one of the local leaders in the revolution against the Turkish occupation (1821).
In modern history, during the German occupation of WWII, the Monastery of Preveli became a shelter for the English, Australian and New Zealand troops that were trapped in Crete whilst hunted by the German Army. Additionally the Monastery of Preveli is well known for the art of icon- painting, with many important icons exhibited in its museum.
Celebrating the 60th anniversary from the Battle of Crete during WWII, the Monastery of PReveli has erected an important war monument, which is dedicated to the resitance of Cretan people, the English, Australian and NEw Zealand allies, those who fell in battle and peace.
Contact us for more information.